Sunday
was our hiking day. We took a 4.5 hour
hike through several mountains, starting at Ohira-san, only a few train stops
away from our home of Oyama. Drew has a
hiking book that ranks the hikes on a scale of 1-4, with 4 being the
hardest. This hike was rated as a 2, and
after reading the description, Drew decided it should be an easy little
jaunt. I will never trust him
again. This was more of a 3.5 on my
scale. It could be because I am a bit
out of shape, or because it is blazingly hot and humid here, but this hike took
me down. My legs were jello by the time
we got to the train station. What made
the whole thing even worse, as I was dragging myself up every hill, was looking
ahead at Drew literally running to the top.
I’d be lying if I said I didn’t yell a few sarcastic remarks up at him. Mr.
Show-off! During hikes like these I
wonder why I ever put myself through this kind of misery. I have to chant little mantras in my head to
keep me going like, “My legs will look great” or “Tonight I get ice
cream”. Yet somehow, after the hike I
convince myself what a great time it was and that I should do it again sometime.
| Slinking along |
| Just keep going |
| Drew is all smiles |
I'm still alive!
Sometimes
I find the best part of the hike to be the shower afterwards. It feels fantastic to be clean and cool after
such a long day. At this point I can
still feel the slight sting in my legs, giving me a sense of accomplishment. I can’t wait for the next trip. See, there I go again…
No comments:
Post a Comment